Need advice on DJ setup for noob DJ.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Need advice on DJ setup for noob DJ.

hey guys, i have a few questions on the gear i should buy and if im making the right choices.

First off, im brand new to DJing. In fact ive never actually touched a CDJ or a controller of anything besides messing around on virtual Dj ,but Ive taken a strong interest in wanting to be a DJ. Ive been doing a lot of research on hard/software on the internet and Ive got an idea of what i want to get. Now keep in mind that Im on a very tight budget and will probably have to save up for every piece individually due to not having a consistent flow of money but i plain to have a job soon.

Anyways i figured the best controller i can get would be the Mixtrack pro due to the low price and descent reliability.

Software wise i was thinking traktor pro because from what ive herd it feels more professional and has more effects.

Finally i was thinking of getting a midi fighter classic to help me with effects and creating build-ups and stuff.

of course ill need a laptop but what about speakers? can i just use any ol' speakers i have for now? or am i going to have to go out and buy really expensive ones just to dj in my room for now? what else will i need besides headphones?

If you have any recommendations on anything such as things im leaving out or different soft/hardware i should use please let me know your opinion. thankyou , nick...

Tech Mentor

Mixtrack Pro
    Traktor Pro
    A pair a Behringer 215Ds
    Mac Book Pro or Macbook from http://www.macofalltrades.com/Apple_Notebooks_s/5.htm

And everything will work out fine assuming you daisy chain your speakers together

Tech Guru

save your money on a midifighter if you are just starting out. You can do plenty with a mixtrack....in fact, I'd probably use the money for a midi fighter for a better controller that will last you.