Will you buy a Microsoft Surface Pro for playing Traktor?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default Will you buy a Microsoft Surface Pro for playing Traktor?

    Surface Pro with Windows 8 Pro
    3rd Gen Intel Core i5 Processor with Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Internal Storage of 64GB, 128GB; 4GB of RAM
    Display: 10.6-inch ClearType HD Display with 1,920x1,080 pixels

    Length: 10.81-inches, width of 6.81-inches, depth: 0.53-inches, Weight: 2-lbs
    Front-and-rear-facing 720p HD cameras
    Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n and Bluetooth version 4.0
    Battery: 42 W-h, including an additional 5 W-h USB for accessory charging)


    The base spec is supposed to retail for around $800.

    Let's give all parties the benefit of the doubt and assume (for the purpose of this thread) that Traktor will work on this unit.

    Would you consider replacing your laptop with this for playing out with Traktor?

    And please, let's not make this a Mac/PC thing.
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor rjc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Well it looks like it's running faster specs than my Macbook air, so performance shouldn't be an issue.

    My only concern would be how much Bus power is available on the device. At the moment, I can run all of my devices without the need of a Powered Hub, but I doubt the surface would have enough power for that. It's just a minor nitpick, I'd be super interested in running on it, or even running it as a secondary device for running Maschine or something like that (Or even a touch based sampler), taking workload off your main computer.

    I'd be really interested to see how it runs
    Traktor Pro 2 | DB2 | 2x X1 | Macbook Air | HDJ1500 | KRK RP6G2 | KRK 12s | Crane Stand Pro

  3. #3
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    I have just pinged the Surface PR team to see if they will send us a review unit.
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  4. #4
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,524

    Default

    I'm not really comfortable with displays smaller than 13" tbh (even at higher resolutions). I want to be able to use it comfortably without having to look like a "traktor dj" whenever i need to look at the screen. Other than that, specs look decent enough.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru diezdiazgiant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    805

    Default

    no but i may buy one for reason.

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,405

    Default

    nope.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    66

    Default

    as long as traktor gui is not optimized for touch screen i don't see any benefit in using a tablet like this.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor Scaper7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Just switched to a laptop with a 1920x1080 display. It's a great resolution for a crowded Traktor GUI. I use the laptop's keyboard for all sorts of things so I can't see myself switching to a tablet.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia.
    Posts
    303

    Default

    If you could freely switch things around in Traktor GUI then I would love to use it.
    Just two track decks for the most of time and browser mode for looking music.
    Also, you could place it flat on the desk so you wouldn't look like a another dude looking at his emails.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru AllDay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    From The Okanagan. Canada!
    Posts
    1,182

    Default

    Why not just get a regular laptop?

    Ive been using my g6 for almost a year now and its awesome

    Click Hereeeeeeee

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •