Ableton Virtual Mem issue

Default Ableton Virtual Mem issue

Hey!

I am new to Ableton and I am using live 7.03 for producing. It was all going pretty good for some time untill yesterday that live was getting freezed and hunged very often. Sometimes I got the insuffucient virtual memory alert.
    On the taskmanager you could notice the cpu meter quite stable at around 30-40% but the PF was getting bigger and bigger.
    On live boot it was already at 300mb, and after opening my proyect it uses 1.4GB and if I got to press play and do anything new the most probable thing is it is getting hung again.

I searched ableton forum but there were references for similar issues with ableton 8.0 people sayed it never happened with 7. What maight be happening here? I am actually running out of ram (I have only 2 GB) because the size of my proyect?

Why does the Ram PF gets bigger and bigger with time? Does something loads direcrly to the Ram altough live is standing still?

Any ideas and suggestions are welcome as I am new to this software and I bealive that my project is quite simple to be having such big issues....

Thanks!

Just guessing here, but maybe you are using mp3s or some form of compressed audio in your project? Live converts everything to WAV before it begins using the audio, and if I'm not mistaken this is stored in memory(?).

Could you describe the project you're working on?

Quote Originally Posted by misa View Post
    Just guessing here, but maybe you are using mp3s or some form of compressed audio in your project? Live converts everything to WAV before it begins using the audio, and if I'm not mistaken this is stored in memory(?).

Could you describe the project you're working on?
    Well I did use some voice sampled into mp3 to generate some midi tracks. As I also have a couple of sampled trumpets from mp3s also.... All cut to midi tracks afterwards.