couple of q's about the vci100
    Tech Convert

Default couple of q's about the vci100

Hola,

New here, found this forum by chance and I'm a happier person for it I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to dj-ing, but I can see that digital dj-ing is the future. At first I considered a real deck and mixer setup (a la CDJ/DJM-800), but then I found this website and I became fascinated with the concept of mixing and scratching via a midi controller.

The VCI-100 looks like a great little machine that will do anything I want without it being too complicated. However I do have a few questions I hope anyone here can answer.

* Will the VCI-100 work out of the box with Traktor Pro 1.1? Or do I have to download and install an official tsi from Vestax first?

* I got my eye on the VCI-100 black edition, it has the 1.2 firmware. I'm considering doing the complete mod to firmware 1.3 including covers and all. However, would upgrading just the firmware be of any real benefit without the use of the DJTT tsi and cover? I got the impression that firmware 1.3 might not work well with other applications than Traktor. Is this correct?

* For some reason I can only find very few vids showing actual scratching on the VCI-100. Does anyone have any good or bad experience with (basic) scratching on the VCI-100?

Apologies if these seem like dumb questions, I did watch almost all of Ean's youtube vids about the VCI-100, and there's already a lot of information to be found on this forum. This website rocks!

Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by lococola View Post
    Hola,

* Will the VCI-100 work out of the box with Traktor Pro 1.1? Or do I have to download and install an official tsi from Vestax first?
    Traktor pro comes with inbuilt tsis for a load of different controllers, the vci being one. You may have to import this tsi from the setting folder to get it to work , but tis is realy really easy and you'll be done up and running within minutes !