Background 'hum' with 2.6 and Wharfedale 15s.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,610

    Default Background 'hum' with 2.6 and Wharfedale 15s.

    I recently updated to Traktor 2.6 (ASUS NJ61 running unbloated Windows 7) and have since developed an issue with my personal set-up. I run a pair of (self-powered) Wharfedale 15s directly from the BALANCED output of the S4 (TRS jack to TRS jack) and now notice a faint 'hum' on start up. The noise stays at low level with increased output on both 'sotware' and 'main outputs' - I keep both at around 12 o' clock. I am assuming that it is related to the speakers in some way, as I run a studio set-up with KRK 6s and a 10" KRK subwoofer (balanced output to subwoofer, balanced outputs to monitors) without any issues. Any ideas?
    Thank you.
    Last edited by JonathanBlake; 12-17-2012 at 12:17 AM.
    356 reasons why

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    what happen if you run your laptop only from it's battery? If the hum disappear and your power supply se 3 pins in the AC outlet, you may want to change it for a 2 pin model.

    OR you may try to lift the ground pin of your TRS cables (yeas both channel) .. no it doesn't hurt ... it's not the AC ground.

    Some will also use some sort of passive direct box (aka hum eliminator) between the speaker and the S4.
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  3. #3
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,610

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJKeyWee View Post
    what happen if you run your laptop only from it's battery? If the hum disappear and your power supply se 3 pins in the AC outlet, you may want to change it for a 2 pin model.OR you may try to lift the ground pin of your TRS cables (yeas both channel) .. no it doesn't hurt ... it's not the AC ground.
    Some will also use some sort of passive direct box (aka hum eliminator) between the speaker and the S4.
    Thank you KW - heard about the 'eliminator' - ANOTHER box . Gonna try your other suggestions.
    356 reasons why

  4. #4
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,295

    Default

    A good friend of mine always had a 'hum' when plugging his s4 into his Wharfdales. Drove us crazy. Eventually resided at the fact that it was something that would always be there. When her changed his set up to A10, mixer and 2 X1's the hum disappeared. I know this is of no help. Just more of an observation!
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  5. #5
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  6. #6
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,610

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarasin View Post
    Yup - go to battery - no hum. Guess the isolator is the way to go. Removing earth seems dicey.
    356 reasons why

  7. #7
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    I removed the Earth....and its fine.

    You are basically making it a 2 prong plug.

    I just cut the Earth Wire in my laptop power plug and now I have only 2 wires in my 3 prong plug.

    Totally safe and does the trick.

    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,470

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarasin
    I removed the Earth....and its fine.

    You are basically making it a 2 prong plug.

    I just cut the Earth Wire in my laptop power plug and now I have only 2 wires in my 3 prong plug.

    Totally safe and does the trick.
    You are crazy.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  9. #9
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,610

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    You are crazy.
    Seems to be the general concensus.
    356 reasons why

  10. #10
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,610

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    You are crazy.
    What about the round two-prong power cable that comes with some laptops - is THAT earthed?
    356 reasons why

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •