My first show as a promoter - DatA in Edmonton, tons of pics inside!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default My first show as a promoter - DatA in Edmonton, tons of pics inside!

I've been DJing a residency with a group of friends for the past 5 months and we just threw our first show as promoters (promoters in the sense that we booked an artist for a show). We brought in DatA from France and the show was absolutely killer, here are some (well, many) pics:

Tech Mentor

Tech Mentor

Tech Mentor

Seems like it was a blast Miyuru!

NICE!
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

Nice! I have a quick question on bringing in DJs from other countries - what do promotors usually pay for the artist?

I'm assuming they pay for flight tix + somewhere to stay but I really don't know, plus that sounds kinda expensive? Or not? Or yes? Or borkdf?

Nice pics! Seems like a great night!
    The club seems like a pretty cool place, arcade cabinet and all
    Traktor Pro
    VCI-100SE
    NI Audio 2 DJ
    Dell Vostro 1320 2.2GHz DC, 4GB ram etc

dude..love data
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep
    freakstep.com / thefreakbeat.com
    me on beatport / me on djtunes
    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ
    My solution: Pay some one to whack them so you don't have any competition

Nice picks, nice party!

Tech Mentor

Thank you for the kind words, everyone! I really have to admit, working for YOURSELF and promoting your own parties is definitely the way to go once you've met all the right people. You can do whatever you want, however you want, and it helps if you have a ton of friends as it makes promoting a lot easier. I almost think we should have a forum just for promotions so we can share ideas on how to get parties hoppin'.

Quote Originally Posted by janzak View Post