Help!! Is it worth buying the S4 or should I go for the S2?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default Help!! Is it worth buying the S4 or should I go for the S2?

    Hey everyone. So I've decided to change my DJ set from Torq to Traktor, which seems to be much better. I want to buy also a Traktor controller, cause all the djing I did was just with my Mac.
    I've seen some posts regarding the S2 vs. S4 but some say the S2 is the best, some others say the S4 is definitely the one, so I'm not really sure yet...

    People say the S4 is huge...but is there really a big difference with the S2? Also, is it that bad that the S2 doesn't have filter knob? And finally, I really like adding samples to songs when djing just to make my mix more dynamic, so is it really necessary to have the extra 2 decks, or can I work my way out with the samples in the S2. In general, between the S2 and S4, which one would you think is the best to go with?

    I don't want to make the wrong decision and then regret buying/not buying one of the controllers. I'll appreciate your help in my decision!

    -A

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor jshawpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Destin, FL
    Posts
    196

    Default

    I rocked clubs all last summer w/ my S2 and MBP 13" ... Nice Odyssey flight case .. and a Launchpad.

    As minimal as that rig sounds .. I hit it hard .. and would have hated to add anymore weight to my setup.

    S2 in flight case looks legit. Launchpad for samples and more FX. I had a blast. And so did the crowds.

    If I was a resident somewhere and left my gear ... I'd probably want the S4.
    My debut EP is FINISHED!! Now back to being a DJ!!

    http://soundcloud.com/iambreed <-- NEW EP! "Hello. My Name is Breed"

    #RESPECT

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Emery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    474

    Default

    The S4 is big compared to an S2, but is dwarfed by the Pio DDJ's

    Do you use 2 decks or 4 when you mix?
    13" Mbp i7 | TMA-1 | Tech 1200's | RANE TTM-57 | NI Audio 4 | Kontrol S4 | F1 | KrK Rokit 5s


  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Emery View Post
    The S4 is big compared to an S2, but is dwarfed by the Pio DDJ's

    Do you use 2 decks or 4 when you mix?
    With the Torq software I have, I'm only able to mix with 2 decks, no extra samples, nothing; just the 2 simple decks. But when I do remixes and mashups, I like to add samples in songs and I would love to be able to do that djing live. So there's where I don't know if I can stay with the S2 and the sample decks or the other 2 decks are necessary.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AMG View Post
    With the Torq software I have, I'm only able to mix with 2 decks, no extra samples, nothing; just the 2 simple decks. But when I do remixes and mashups, I like to add samples in songs and I would love to be able to do that djing live. So there's where I don't know if I can stay with the S2 and the sample decks or the other 2 decks are necessary.
    You're going to want the S4 then. It's really not that big of a controller...
    2 x CDJ 850 | Kontrol S4 | A&H Xone XD-53's | A&H Xone K2 | Kontrol X1 | Kontrol F1 | DJM 900nxs

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Get the S4. If you want a more modular setup more suitable for playing out, pick up an audio 2 or 6, X1 and maybe a mixer such as the new Z2.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor dual citizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    385

    Default

    S4. You gain more than just two more mixer channels. You also gain extra cue point/remix deck buttons. No filter on S2 sealed the deal for me.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    Get the S4. If you want a more modular setup more suitable for playing out, pick up an audio 2 or 6, X1 and maybe a mixer such as the new Z2.
    You love your X1's don't ya??!!
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    'Tis a thing of beauty
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  10. #10

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •