Making Demo Mixtapes
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Making Demo Mixtapes

So I've been practicing my mixing for a couple months and I'm ready to go out and get some gigs. It seems to me that for this I've got to make a demo mix. I've searched the forums and I haven't found any information on what exactly a demo mix should be like. I am wondering about things like length, style, etc.

Any help is appreciated
    VCI-100 SE, Echo Indigo DJ, Technics RP-DH1200, Traktor Pro 1.1.2

Tech Guru

30 - 60 mins

play whatever, you're the dj aren't you?

whatever you do take the time to make sure there's no fuck ups in it, especially if it's your first demo. One mistake can overshadow the entire mix when you don't have a forgiving audience/fanbase established yet.

I'd say that it should be whatever style you normally do. Actually now that I think about it, what do you mean by style? If you mean like genre of music, it should be whatever you usually mix. And in terms of length, probably you should try to make it full length (just under 80 minutes). But I don't think there's really any specific rules.

Other than that I would just saying that obviously it should be as flawless as humanly possible.
    LamboxMusic.com
    Newest release: A Pimp's Overture in B-Flat Minor
    Check out my free "Robo Rhythm" EP: Here

Soundcloud - Facebook - Twitter

To tell the truth I don't really have a specific style. I spin anything and dig anything. From Boleros to Bmore Club. The demo is more for a restaurant/lounge type gig so I figured it would be not as dance-oriented.
    VCI-100 SE, Echo Indigo DJ, Technics RP-DH1200, Traktor Pro 1.1.2

Tech Wizard

I was under the impression that demos should be short-ish because you're not here to make the club promoter dance, you're here to show off your skills. Do they really have the time to listen 80min worth of mix? Wouldn't a 20-ish minute mix be better (spending max 2 to 3min on each track)?

Tech Mentor