Finding and getting music
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Finding and getting music

for all you Dj's, where do you find new music to play for sets and mixed. also, how can you tell a song will be good to mix with. im new to mixing and can never tell what would go well together and im kind of lost.

Tech Mentor

I find and download new stuff from DJcity (record pool). As far as knowing what is good to mix, just experimenting. Also if you use a program for mixing in key, that can help determine what works well together.

You can find music anywhere on the web: beatport, itunes, bandcamp, soundcloud, etc.

As far as knowing what works you need to practice, practice, practice and use your ears. Watch some YouTube tutorials or check out sites like dubspot. Also spend a lot of time listening to music and other djs sets that sound good to you and try to understand what they are doing.
    tsp 2.5 | vci-400 ege | mfspectra | kontrol x1s | rokit 8s (ferrari grey) | krk 10 sub | audio 8
    hp dv6 - i5 - 8gb | maschine | mpk49 | apc40 | rokit 5s | technics sl-1200mk3ds | cdj100s
    thread of free music

Tech Convert

how can you tell what key something is in on traktor?

Tech Mentor

as said you need a program like Mixed in Key, Rapid Evolution, etc etc. Some are pay some are free. i know RE had a free beta i used for awhile that was decent. didnt write it into camelot like MIK does.

http://www.djtechtools.com/2009/11/0...are-smackdown/

read into this.

everything else is just practice. throw a track on, play it and while listening cue another track and listen and see how they mix. BPM matching helps when new as well. mixing in deck B intro while deck A is on a braekdown is a easy way to start learning to mix as well.