Advice needed

Thread: Advice needed

Default Advice needed

Alright, so I'm new to the whole serato/traktor side of everything. For the 6 or so years (on and off, times are tough and this is a expensive habit lol) I've been doing this I've always used vinyl. I've barely used cd's. I know, I know, gotta get with the times. Doesn't mean Ima like it. Either way, I'm updating, it'll be in a few months so I can save up the money and know what all I have to buy. I dont expect it to be to expensive as long as I can use my current set up. Ima let y'all know what I have and my plan, and I guess y'all tell me what it is I need, anything I'm missing or if this will even work.

I have two Numark turntables (one is belt drive and the other is direct) a Numark DM2002x Pro Master Mix mixer, and a Dell Inspiron laptop (running windows 7)

The plan is to get 2 AV cable splitters so I can hook my turntables to my laptop and mixer. I still need a soundcard and the control vinyl plus the software. I dont want to use the laptop as a mixer, I still want to use my mixer. The only reason I'm using serato or traktor is so that I can have my whole music library.

Seems simple enough, don't see why it wouldn't work.

Let me know if I'm missing anything, or if it'll even work.

Tech Guru

I would personally go with the NI cards, purely because they're cheaper than Serato's RANE cards and they achieve the exact same thing, and with proper care they should both last you a life time.

Again, personally I would go with Traktor, purely because it is a far more capable program. Serato scratch is very bread and butter in it's approach, whereas Traktor gives you a ton of options which, if you ever decide to integrate a controller into your setup for some effects/remix set fun, which you probably will after you get used to Traktor, then it costs you nothing to do so and you're already familiar with the program.