Djing in a Club
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Djing in a Club

Default Djing in a Club

Hello Djs,

I'm relatively new to djing, only been doing it for less than a year and I had a question about how do djs mix their
    songs in a club. I mostly mix Electro Dance music so I know about beat-matching and all the basics, but my question
    was just exactly how you would mix your songs in a club? What I've been noticing is when I go to a club is djs dont
    play the songs for too long, they try to keep the excitement up and not have the crowd waiting for too long, but i
    need to get more info. For example, do they have their own edits of songs to make them easier to mix (I saw a dj ata club mixing the drum beat of The Motto then Drake started rapping, but the original version starts with drake
    rapping on the first beat)? How long should a song be played? How to know which songs to play(mixing in key)? How to time your songs right for the whole night? Things like that.. Any advice and tips from all club Djs out there would be helpful and much appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi IzReal,

Maybe this wil give you a head start: http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthread.php?t=3545

Many of your questions depends on your own personal style and most of all how your crowd react.
    Yes, there are remixes that are not avaliable for us "simple souls"....

Click the link and read my friend. Also try to search the forum on your own.

Cheers!
    DJ Kontrol S2 || Traktor 2.6 || MBP 15" 16G Retina || MACKIE MR5 MKII ||

Prod. PC Duo Core || 22" LG || Ableton Live 9 || AKAI MPK mini

Your probably going to get bashed for asking a "newbie" question ... because they'll assume you haven't researched anything. I don't really care ... If I feel like a chat all good.