Newbie looking for advice

Default Newbie looking for advice

Hey guys, just signed up for the forums. I'm new to all of this. I currently own a little Vextax VCI-300 Mark 2. And have been playing around on it for a few months now. I do some parties and what not but I have just been using computer speakers with a sub. I really need to get something better. I'm looking into getting one of the Pioneer controllers. Maybe the DDJ-S1 or SX. But that's down the road. Right now I need some good speakers.

What do you guys recommend? I'm a student so keeping the price down to me is very important!

Thanks,

Brendan

Tech Wizard

I suggest going to a music store (or best buy) and listen to some in the price range you are thinking. Speakers are very important but where and how you use them is just as important in the decision process so only you will know what is the best for your situation.

I myself have rockit 8's in bedroom studio, Hafler 5" passive monitors in my office, Mackie Srm450s with EV Live X 18" subs in my basement practice room/house party room, 2 bose L1's for mobile gigs and a fender passport 150 for outdoor small things. They all have different sound quality and purposes. Oh and I also have some very old computer altec lansing speakers with a sub in the kitchen when I want to mess around and frankly they sound fine for the intended volume level.

Xpozur

Depends on what you are looking for in sound quality/portability/room filling sound. If you are going to take the speakers to house parties, you will need something with some power like KRKs. If you are just going to keep the speakers at home and do this as a hobby, hook up your gear to a stereo. Right now, I have my booth out going to a stereo with 2 moveable speakers, and my master out going to an amp hooked to 2 large speakers. Everything except for the amp i got at yard sales.