Turning off cdj at the wall instead of on the unit
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default Turning off cdj at the wall instead of on the unit

    Hey guys,

    Got a quick question that I hope someone here can answer, as I can't find anything online about it.

    I've just got a swan coffin case to house my CDJ2000s, and my DJM900. Got it all setup the way i want it now, but there's one problem. I'm not able to turn the units off individually like I normally would.

    I've got a 6 plug extension cable in the coffin and have everything plugged in there with a power lead coming out of the top of the coffin. You can kinda see what i mean in this photo -

    http://instagram.com/p/UWqWEYtiCi/

    When I'm finished mixing, and want to pack it all up I have been turning off the units by unplugging the power extension that Everything is plugged into. I have no access to the back of the decks/mixer and have no way to turn them off individually.

    My question is : will this damage the units at all, or should i be taking off the top bit of my coffin and turning them off individually each and every time?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,490

    Default

    It should be fine mate as long as the cd's aren't playing or anything.
    All the switch does is break the circuit - which is the same as cutting the power.
    SC | MC

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default

    that's great news mate!
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  4. #4
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicky H View Post
    All the switch does is break the circuit - which is the same as cutting the power.
    I'm not sure that's strictly true, since the players stay on for a second or 2 after you press the switch. Not really sure why, may be a shut down procedure. On the other hand, I've had power cuts and accidentally unplugged them before and never had an issue. A club I used to play at occasionally had DVJ-1000s and they never used the proper power switches, the whole booth was just on a big ol' breaker in the back room. My coffin case is on its way from Germany and I'd like to know the official word on it from Pioneer myself.

    I think the pioneer forum might be a better place to ask, but let us know what they say!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default

    Yeah good idea. I have just made the same post on pioneer forums, ill post here when i get an official reply. Here's the link

    http://forums.pioneerdj.com/entries/...of-on-the-unit
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,490

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    I'm not sure that's strictly true, since the players stay on for a second or 2 after you press the switch.
    I think that's probably just because the led's are such low power, it takes a second or two to discharge, a bit like when you unplug a tv that's on standby, the red light always takes a second or two.

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    I think the pioneer forum might be a better place to ask, but let us know what they say!
    But yeah I agree - get an answer from a mod there if possible (pretty sure the advice will be to use the switch though)
    SC | MC

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    I'm not sure that's strictly true, since the players stay on for a second or 2 after you press the switch.
    I get the exact same delay when using the rear switch as when turning off at the wall socket, so it seems the rear switch is pre-transformer and has the same effect as simply cutting the power.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •