Ordinary day of a mix?

Default Ordinary day of a mix?

Hi, I'm new to DJ'ing and would like to ask you guys about preparing songs, samples and everything else that I dont know about it yet. What story you get while search for tracks and thinking of being creative? How long it takes you to make a mix you want it, what goes after...? I got loads of ideas about using samples in the mix and adding something extra, buying a midi keyboard, getting a loop controller, mastering my mixer and so on... but I am curious to know what advanced DJ's are doing to create something.

Jam. Just throw on tunes. When you do a great transition, or 2 tracks just work together, write it down! Don't even TRY to remember it!

After a while, you'll start to be able to predict what tracks go together. Don't worry about the Key of stuff - just know what sounds good, and keep finding good transitions and sriting 'em down. Pretty soon, you'll have a full mix worth of great transitions.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

That is an interesting point about writing down songs, I do write down what I think off will sound interesting like what loops to include, create or try to approach abelton style mixing (reason why I bought 4-deck mixer). As you said, I'm going to stick to my plan and see how it goes.

i normally have 2-3 tracks in my mind for the beginning of a mixtape and after that, itīs mixing on the fly. that means, that it takes me 30min-60mins to do a mixtape. after that itīs just converting to mp3, uploading it, droppping it on my iphone. et voila...
    I'm just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.