First paid set

Thread: First paid set

Tech Wizard

Default First paid set

I’m playing a bar in London for an acquaintance’s party and she is paying me (not much, but it’s still my first paid set).

I have played out before but I don’t really know what to expect as this is the first place I’ve seen with a DJ booth where I will need to plug everything in and get it all working. I have read the ‘How to set up in a club’ thread (and will probably print it to take with me!) but wondered if you guys have any other tips?

I’m worried about having all the right cables and connections and where everything goes. Like, my soundcard has RCA outs that go to 1/4” inputs on my monitors at home. I guess I can’t just use those cables to plug into the mixer at the bar? Or maybe I can?

I don’t know if they have monitors in the booth – is it tricky setting up the different channels if they do? I have no experience of setting up with more than one set of speakers, if you see what I mean.

The good thing is no-one else will be playing that night so I don't have to worry about following another DJ or another poor guy following me after I've screwed up the setup.

Obviously, I will go to the bar if possible to see what they have, but sometimes it’s hard to take it all in…

Tech Wizard

Just don't worry too much, man. If you don't know what you need, just ask your friend. In the beginning, we all need a little help

Good luck and have fun with your first bar session. Try and record your set in Traktor. It helped me a lot back then listening to the mix afterwards and hearing what I really played (and to see if I EQued right, kept the gain straight, if the track selection was actually nice etc.). It'll also be fun to listen to that stuff in a couple of years... The only way to get better!
    Vestax VCI-100 SE, M-Audio Firewire 410, Traktor Pro 2.0.1

Tech Wizard