Question from a Newb on Mixing technique...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Question from a Newb on Mixing technique...

Hello DJTTF,

Quick introduction.

I started Producing about 4 months ago. I got bit by the bug hard and have been reading and watching videos night and day. Soon after I realized that you could actually DJ through ableton as well so I got an APC40 around the holidays. That being said, I am very new to all things producing and DJing...

Now that that has been said, here is my question. I have been reading as much as I can about the ways you can mix from one song to the other. 99% of the tutorials on mixing all focused on finding 2 songs that you can match the BPM on, finding the right spot in the song and then just working the crossfader. Easy enough it seemed. Then I was actually watching an Ill.Gates youtube video on his APC40 template and he quickly mentions how DJs mix and how they cut either the highs and lows out of one song, the opposite from the other song that will soon be fading in and then once the new song is in and the old one is out the EQs are all back up creating a "bandpass". What is this technique called because I cant find any other mention of it online?

Thanks for any help!

Tech Guru

The technique has no name, it's just EQing. Basically track A is playing, and you start track B and you get the beat matched, then you fade the volume in. You don't have to take the bass out for some songs, but the majority, it causes the kick drum to double up and this causes distortion or wobbly beats, since not all kicks peak on the beat, and correcting it can cause your hi-hats and snare to fall out of time.

Tech Guru