Live Band+DJ
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Live Band+DJ

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Live Band+DJ

    Hey everyone, I have a question about a live set up:

    I am currently playing for a touring pop/house group that is full band (Drums, Guitar, Bass, Vocals). My question is about the fact that we are going to incorporate a DJ into the mix, much like the set up of Modestep. I was wondering how to fade a click to the drummer from Traktor (or Ableton is a possibility) for tracks. I know about panning click to the left and running tracks right because we do that now with a macbook. However, adding the flavor of a DJ makes it a little more confusing for getting click to the dummer because your tracks are now with the DJ. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    south of england
    Posts
    282

    Default

    Traktors click goes out via the headphone output so just give the drummer that feed

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Are you able to pan the click? Also, wouldnt the DJ have a click as well? It probably wouldn't be a big deal, but it might be an annoyance. Is there some way to run 2 separate computers linked to the same session? Id like to make the set up where the drums can control his own level, and DJ controls his own levels.

  4. #4
    Tech Convert DIGITaL MoNKEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Largo, FL
    Posts
    14

    Default

    You could use an external metronome that is synced to the DJ's time code. This could be done through ableton and traktor possibly. It really depends on the gear the DJ is using.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru dripstep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    my house in the great white north.
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    Give us a gear list. What are you guys using, we should be able to help better if we know what you have.
    2 x gemini PT 1000 . Gemini PS-525 . X1
    NI Audio 6 . Traktor Scratch pro 2
    2007 Macbook Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by The Mighty FV View Post
    manners don't cost a thing dude - never forget that, it'll help you in all walks of life.

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,524

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DillonJones View Post
    Id like to make the set up where the drums can control his own level, and DJ controls his own levels.
    That's what Send/Return channels are for. Make two returns and control the volume of each source with the send. The drummer can have a controller next to him so he can tweak it to his liking. You will need something more than the mac's soundcard if you need to output A) DJ Audio/Mix B) Drummer Mix C) Running Tracks

    I run a similar setup with my band.
    Last edited by padi_04; 02-27-2013 at 09:32 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •