Speakers for home DJ use and small parties
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Speakers for home DJ use and small parties

Hi all,

First post so be gentle.

I am a complete speaker noob. But I am looking for a new speaker setup for say an S4. I currently use Harman Kardon soundsticks, which are good for my room but when I take them to a party or try to crank them up for a pre party they just don't cut it.

So I am in the market for some new speakers, but ones that are good enough for home use and incase I have a few people over, should be no more than 15 people. It's a medium sized room.

I don't fancy forking out for monitors as I know once a few drinks have been consumed they will eventually get blown.

I was perhaps looking at these;

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3105827505...=p5197.c0.m619

Or will I be better with a small PA active speakers such as;

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-QTX-So...11005664951%26

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tech Wizard

I can highly recommend the second pair, the QTX speakers because ive used a pair and still have a pair for the exact reason you want them.

They are excellent speakers for house parties and with the stands they'll be perfect for any use in your home. They really really loud as well, like amazingly loud. I own a pair of 300 wat speakers and my little 150watt QTX pair are still close to their loudness.

If your gonna do a bigger venue than, like, a 10 x 20 room, youll need bigger speakers but definitely the QTX speakers
    Toshibha Satellite, 8GB RAM, Intel i3 processor, 2.40 GHz -Hercules Dj Control Steel -Traktor Pro 2 -Midi Fighter: Beatmasher
    -QTX sound Powered 150 WATT Speakers

Tech Mentor

Quote Originally Posted by LIVEMAU5 View Post
    I can highly recommend the second pair, the QTX speakers because ive used a pair and still have a pair for the exact reason you want them.