Midi Keyboard? Maschine or Maschine Mikro?
    Tech Wizard

Default Midi Keyboard? Maschine or Maschine Mikro?

So I am getting into making this new music making obsession. I was just curious if anyone knew or could recommend a good buy relatively inexpensive midi keyboard. I am a college student on a bit of a tight budget... And also should I get Maschine or Maschine Mikro? I know they are both relatively the same but I'm not sure which one people were suggesting. All the help I can get would be awesome.

I strongly recommend getting the full-size Maschine. There are tonnes of threads on this forum and others on Maschine vs Maschine Mikro but it's pretty easy to see the differences. Maschine hardware affords an impressive amount of control, where Mikro is really just the pads, and you'll find yourself looking at the software more.

I like Novation's keyboards. I recommended them earlier today. I like the 61SLmkII for a lot of reasons, but the ability to see a reference to what the knobs, faders, etc are doing on the controller's screen, just like on Maschines, is big for me.

Back at home I've got a Yamaha P-80 and a couple of Korgs, but when I moved up here I couldn't bring everything with me, so I ended up just grabbing the cheapest, shittiest 49-key MIDI keyboard I could off eBay... think I paid about £15 for an Evolution MK-149, and it works just fine for laying down tracks in Reason

EDIT: This is the EXACT model I've got: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/midi-contr...item20cf05c242

They go for bugger all on eBay, although usually they're collection only. It's also worth popping down to your local carboot sales as people often sell older keyboards for £20 or so; just check the back and make sure it's got MIDI out (5 pin DIN).
    Last edited by mdcdesign; 02-05-2013 at 04:29 AM.