How would I go about including a wahwah foot pedal into live set up...
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Superfreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    London, UK.
    Posts
    640

    Default How would I go about including a wahwah foot pedal into live set up...

    I've been interested in brining a foot pedal into my set up for a while now, specifically a wahwah pedal.
    How would I go about doing this?

    Atm my home DJ & live set up consists of TSP2, Audio 10, MacBook Pro, Maschine (synced with Traktor), Pioneer CDJ 1000 & CDJ 800? Pioneer DJM 500, and then my monitors and headphones, and I've recently got Ableton live 8, so am going to eventually sync that up with Traktor too.

    How would one go about integrating a foot pedal into this, how would I connect it, what would I connect it up too etc.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    361

    Default

    I've always considered getting a foot pedal for effets as well, I'm not great on the subject but I figure it could be used as a MIDI device, I don't see why not.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,470

    Default

    There are PLENTY of (even free) Wah-Wah VST's out there. Just get a midi pedal, and hook it up to a channel in live with the Wah-Wah VST on it...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Superfreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    London, UK.
    Posts
    640

    Default

    Hm, would I connect it to the MIDI i/o of my Audio10? Would it take up a channel of my mixer or what? I really dont know how it'd all be connnected an what it would use up.

    Or yes, @patch, i could get a MIDI pedal and set it to ableton, but im not good with ableton, still got to sync it up with traktor, will be doing that this weekend.

    Could u possibly point me towards a midi wahwah pedal that's under 100?
    Cheers dudes.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    Wah wah pedals are usually just inline so I would assume you can put it before or after the mixer or anywhere really. I'm just using my knowledge from guitar though so I could be completely wrong.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard underwaterrobots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SlvrDragon50 View Post
    Wah wah pedals are usually just inline so I would assume you can put it before or after the mixer or anywhere really. I'm just using my knowledge from guitar though so I could be completely wrong.
    The problem is that wah wah pedals are only designed to handle frequencies specific to the guitar, so it wouldn't work well for effecting an entire mix. That goes for MIDI wah wah effects too... you'd probably only want to apply the effect to a specific frequency range, not the entire mix.
    Check out my Youtube channel for controllerism routines, mashups, tutorials, etc. using Midi Fighters and other tasty gear.

    http://www.youtube.com/user/underwaterrobots

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,470

    Default

    Behringer FCB-100 - 96:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000CZ0RK...SIN=B000CZ0RK6

    Then you could use it to control ANY VST effects - here's a free Wah-Wah VST:

    http://www.kvraudio.com/product/effectizer_by_gsi
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Superfreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    London, UK.
    Posts
    640

    Default

    Good point @underwaterrobots, I'll see how it goes, will experiment with it.

    Ah i just checked both of them out as it goes lol, the plugin is windows and the behringer pedeal, seems to be the cheapest, although its quite bigger than the rest.. How would I get this into my set up mate?

    PLug it via MIDI cable to the MIDI in of my audio 10, and then to where? Ta

    EDIT: Oh, and could i set it to work with any filter VST plugin i have, or like ANY plugins at all, if i get it to work through ableton?

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    That's what I was thinking underwaterrobots because I remember the wah pedal not really having an effect on vocals.

    I don't think it would be very hard to change the range of the wah pedal though. That would be an interesting project.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru funke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nashville Illinois
    Posts
    502

    Default

    You could get one of these and have switches too. http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthread.php?t=65203
    Toshiba Satellite Windows 8.1, TSP2, Audio 10, Audio 2, 2x Technics 1200 MKII, Pioneer DJM-707, Midi Fighter Spectra, Kontrol X1, Behringer CMD PL-1

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •