Newbie Needs Help!! - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,410

    Default

    Sure. you need to disable a few things in the device manager, the main two would be the ACPI.sys under battery and all network devices. Other stuff you can disable optionally would be stuff like the webcam, card reader, cd rom etc
    i also run a wee app called gamebooster which helps a lot http://www.iobit.com
    if you have win 7 you want to disable all that aero crap, you want to maximize the system for performance, not looks.
    if you really want to get into it, check out 2 other programs called DPC LATENCY CHECKER & LATENCY MON, the first will tell you your sytem latency and the second helps you to find and sort out those issues.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  2. #12
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    53

    Default

    thank you so much for your help, ill be doing all of this tonight!
    is it worth upgrading to windows 7 or is vista okay for traktor?

  3. #13
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Win 7 may give you better performance but I'd try it on your current operating system 1st.

    I'd avoid using any 3rd party programs like Gamebooster for the time being and see how well your laptop performs. Disabling Wifi and Bluetooth are the main places to start. Try Traktor out for a few hours before making too many changes and see how it goes.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  4. #14
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    53

    Default

    traktor works fine at the moment i havnt had any issues, although i hate the fact i cant leave the thing unplugged my laptop runs great, i just want to reinstall windows and format (start clean running minimal programs including traktor) and unsure to keep vista or do windows 7

  5. #15
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Reinstalling is a good idea and I would recommend using Windows 7 if you do, but don't overwrite your old Windows installation in case for whatever reason you have problems with the new install.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  6. #16
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,410

    Default

    get rid of vista asap its a dog mate.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  7. #17
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    53

    Default

    yeah i thought 7 would be better, looks like ill have to do some research on where i can pick it up cheap.. anyway thanks for the help guys really made me feel welcome on the site!

  8. #18
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    53

    Default

    one more question.. my laptop is 64 bit compatible but currently running 32 bit,.. what version of windows 7 should i install???

  9. #19
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    64 bit is best, you won't be able to use all 4GB of RAM on 32 bit.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  10. #20
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    53

    Default

    cheers.. found an upgrade for 7 ultimate for $60

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •