Win7 - Disable ACPI? Try this:
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default Win7 - Disable ACPI? Try this:

    I've been having audio issues with Windows 7, even after some pretty serious optimising.

    Nothing really serious - but I knew I could get better performance out of my laptop.

    I've tried a lot of different ways to get around the Win 7 ACPI issues, and I knew that ACPI was causing some serious hard page faults from using DPC Checker and LatencyMon.

    As a last ditch effort, I thought I'd try removing the battery...

    Bugger me if all my ACPI problems didn't just stop!

    Try it - see what results you get...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    You can remove the battery. Easier just to disable ACPI Compliant Control Method Battery in the device manager.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    Doesn't do THING IN wIN 7...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  4. #4

    Default

    Theoretically you could re-install with a non-ACPI HAL, but it seems like overkill considering there's probably a far simpler solution to your issue.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru squidot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    803

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    You can remove the battery. Easier just to disable ACPI Compliant Control Method Battery in the device manager.
    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Doesn't do THING IN wIN 7...
    for me disabling acpi in the device manager fixed all of my dcp latency issues. odd it doesn't do anything for you. some have recommended disabling in bios.
    tsp 2.5 | vci-400 ege | mfspectra | kontrol x1s | rokit 8s (ferrari grey) | krk 10 sub | audio 8
    hp dv6 - i5 - 8gb | maschine | mpk49 | apc40 | rokit 5s | technics sl-1200mk3ds | cdj100s
    thread of free music

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    IMO this is the Number 1 optimisation you can use for windows machines. using the dpc checker before and after this will make it obvious.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Agree. Disabling battery manager was the most effective optimisation step I could take on my windows machine.
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    this and not checking your facebook mid set.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    this and not checking your facebook mid set.
    Indeed, that's what your phone is for.

  10. #10
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    Changing the default system font to Tahoma is pretty much THE best thing you can do.
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •