Traktor Pro 2 or Traktor Scratch 2?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Traktor Pro 2 or Traktor Scratch 2?

    I have a denon x1600 mixer and just ordered 2 3700 hybrid turntables...
    I'm curious if I need a time code to work Traktor with the 3700s and pretty much use my deck like a giant controller...
    Just curious if I should go for Pro 2 and just midi map everything for the 3700s or if Scratch with the timecodes is the best way to go.
    Also, the price range is massive... is there any way I can JUST get the Scratch 2 Software and not the whole kit?

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Stick with Pro 2, and map your 3700's for traktor.
    Unfortunately you cant get the scratch software without the soundcard, if you already own an audio 6 or 10 you can get the upgrade for $120 i think.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Are there preset mappings I can download for the 3700s?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    The denon x1600 is certified though isn't it? which means that he just needs the upgrade, regardless of what soundard he does/doesn't have?
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  5. #5
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    correct! forgot about that
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  6. #6
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    Don't you own an x1600 as well??
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    Stick with Pro 2, and map your 3700's for traktor.
    Aren't the hybrid turntables designed to work as a hybrid between DVS and MIDI? So you'd still need Scratch Pro to use them fully?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    464

    Default

    Do you want spinny platter control in Traktor using the 3700s or are you happy using them like jog wheels?

    Traktor Pro 2 - jog wheels
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2 - spinny platter control

    As you've got an X1600 I'd buy the TSP 2 certified mixer upgrade package, for the spinny platter control.

    See the Denon website and forum, the DJTT mapping section and Traktor Bible site for mappings and set up instructions.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    I guess you could use them just over midi as with any other controller, probably wont be as tight/responsive as using it with the hybrid timecode and midi though.
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robdquick View Post
    Don't you own an x1600 as well??
    yes but i got my scratch upgrade through my audio 6 lol
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •