What does a usb audio interface do? is it necessary?
    Tech Wizard

Default What does a usb audio interface do? is it necessary?

Hi everyone,

I have been producing in Ableton for a few years now and I am looking to expand my studio.
    Right now I musing a macbook pro (2013), alesis studio monitors, an akai mpk mini 25 key keyboard, and a novation launchpad. Someone suggested that I get a usb audio interface. What does it do? I know its used to get audio into your computer, but does it do anything else? Im not too worried about vocals or guitar so would it be necessary?

Thanks in advanced

Tech Wizard

it can help reduce your latency and digital to analog conversion, since you are working only with your computer (In The Board ITB) you only need a simple one look around for one cheap: focusrite , native instruments 6, apogee one, etc...

From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D

In a nutshell: its a soundcard. Pretty much any external soundcard will sound a million times better than the built in one on the Macbook, less noise higher sample rates and possibly lower latency (which you'll need when you are playing a keyboard),

I know its used to get audio into your computer
    The Majority of cards do, however the Native instruments Audio2 for example only takes audio out of the computer at much better quality than the built in sound card of the macbook.

so would it be necessary?
    If you are serious in any way about your Audio quality of your productions - then yes!

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    In a nutshell: its a soundcard. Pretty much any external soundcard will sound a million times better than the built in one on the Macbook, less noise higher sample rates and possibly lower latency (which you'll need when you are playing a keyboard),

If you are serious in any way about your Audio quality of your productions - then yes!
    So what would I plug into it? Both of my controllers are usb.