First controller..Do I really need jog wheels?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default First controller..Do I really need jog wheels?

Hello DJTT,

I'm completely new to all of this and I'm looking for a low end controller to get into mixing, learning the software, finding my style, and overall just having fun as a hobby.
    I have a few questions about choosing a controller that I'm hoping to get some feedback on...Pardon my lack of terminology here.

I'm very interested in mixing pieces of tracks with others, using samples and incorporating effects, playing with loops and so forth..Seems like this is pretty much the standard idea with the DJ controllers but I want to focus more on effects and cutting/slicing, and juggling, over just blending from song to song, and I really don't care to get into scratching...Again I don't plan to play at clubs or any kind of sponsored events, just in my own home or maybe at a friends house with a few people.

Here's what I was looking at:
    Numark Mixtrack Pro and an Akai Professional LPD8 (promotion to get a free upgrade from Serato Intro to DJ w/ these on Numarks site right now) or a Numark Mixtrack Pro 2
    Vestax VCI-100
    Reloop Mixage IE
    Novation Twitch

I like the idea of the Twitch and if I don't plan to get into scratching, do I really need jog wheels? Is the Twitch really better for what I'm looking to do? (around $300 or less budget)
    Any advice or other recommendations would be much appreciated!

Thanks DJTT,
    BSudz

Tech Mentor

Hello, I personally own a Kontrol S2, I only use Jogwheel for Transport and Grid Marker Adjust in Traktor Pro 2.6. If you really don't need Jogwheel for JogwheelFX, Scratch, Transport or Grid Adjust I would recommend Twitch, ( never pu my hands on it ), instead If you think you need it I would recommend Native Instrument or Vestax stuff, not really convinced by Reloop & Numark low price stuff, feel to cheap to me.

Tech Guru