Set Philosophy

Thread: Set Philosophy

Tech Wizard

Default Set Philosophy

he folks

i am new to the dj scene and building up a little set now and was wondering..... i take so much time to find good tracks ( minimal, electro a la bodzin etc) and this best-of-extract maybe 3h will be only one set of my all time favs over the years, but how do you do it if you play a lot in clubs or if you are a resident not a bedroom dj like me
    you have the pressure to make new sets all the time....so you have to put new shittracks in your set? i cant imagine of finding xxx hours of bangers
    ...and i am listening/searching every day

it was one of my first questions i saw a dj playing the first time
    kind of strange that i didnt met the question here somewhere
    doesnt that bother you at all? how come?

looking forward to your answers

hey

I'm sure everyone has their own style and you'll get a few different opinions on this, which'll all be perfectly valid.

My sets, regardless of the genre, usually go something like as follows......

a) First half an hour to an hour, I'm building atmosphere while people are arriving, playing stuff which is still pretty good but a bit older now and not the cream of my intended set. If a few people start dancing, which often happens at this point, then i'll go with it for a couple of tracks and see if i can keep them on the floor, but not too worried if they get bored or wander away for a drink, just let the atmosphere build and let everyone arrive and get a few drinks and say hi to their mates and stuff. If the barstaff or manager have any requests that wont fit in later on in the big parts of the night then i'll try and play a few of them here as well, keep them happy while its still relatively quiet.