Getting my z2 setup right...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default Getting my z2 setup right...

    Chaps,

    The SmiTTTen family noise table has been packed up for a good while as we get ready to move to Columbus (anyone in Columbus?). When I set it back up I'll finally get the chance to break out my shiny z2.

    I have a pair if 12s, a Kontrol F1, Xone K2 and other sundry items and want to figure out the best setup. The z2 is a little limited in terms of transport controls (as it should be) so....

    Do I get a 2nd f1 and have them both do double duty as remix deck controls and transport controls using the x1 layout? Has anyone got this kind if setup and what's it like to switch between the 2 layouts? If I'm going to buy another piece of kit it has to be an f1 rather than an x1 as I want to play with 8 channels on the remix decks.

    Open to other suggestions to

    A
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru botstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    LA / NYC
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    Yo - I use a Z2 with two F1s.

    For me, the primary reason to use Traktor is scratch control over clips (something not easily done in Ableton), so control of up to 4 remix decks simultaneously from the Z2, over two of which I have full control with F1s.

  3. #3
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    Are you using the f1s for transport controls too?
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru botstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    LA / NYC
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    Not really - I've been using timecode and couple of jump buttons mapped to the Z2.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru DarioJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North & Central FL
    Posts
    794

    Default

    Ask and you shall receive sir. Not sure its what you're looking for, but it will at least serve as a place to start.

    Personally I find it as a good replacement for the 2-X1 combo. I'll primarily use 3 decks and only 4 remix slots (as a glorified loop recorder). I actually find myself using the 3 decks more then incorporating the remix decks. That doesn't say that you wont though.

    Hope this helps.

    I made some changes since laying out on the image, but they are minor changes. Also this was done over the 'user' layer to retain HID control over the colors. Hotcues flow in the X1 order as opposed to what is in the drawing
    Attached Files Attached Files
    The MUSIC is what matters!
    Everything else is _________

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    I'd use the K2 for what you need. No reason to buy another controller.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor 0Notice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    478

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    I'd use the K2 for what you need. No reason to buy another controller.
    Agreed.
    Mapping Enthusiast
    S4 | X1 | F1 | MF3D

  8. #8
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    I'm looking at a 2nd f1 for remix deckery 8 slotery (technical term). Was really wondering how they do doubling up as a transport control too.
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor 0Notice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    478

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smittten View Post
    I'm looking at a 2nd f1 for remix deckery 8 slotery (technical term). Was really wondering how they do doubling up as a transport control too.
    Well I have mine set up in User mode to do all of my FX assigning and transport controls. I have the Encoder and screen working together so I have 8 different pages of parameters, only a few of those I use, but it is a good controller for transport controls when mapped out accordingly.
    Mapping Enthusiast
    S4 | X1 | F1 | MF3D

  10. #10
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smittten View Post
    I'm looking at a 2nd f1 for remix deckery 8 slotery (technical term). Was really wondering how they do doubling up as a transport control too.
    Ship me your k2 then, i'll take care of the import taxes & shipping

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •