Record Pools like DJCity, Legal?

Default Record Pools like DJCity, Legal?

Hello everyone. I am pretty new to all this.

I am one of those people who always pay for all my music, software, etc. I am a stickler about it. Without getting into a moral discussion about it, this is my stance and will always be my stance.

Recently I have been purchasing tons of music from Amazon. In the last few weeks I have seen many discussions around Record Pools. The more I look into them the more they sound like a great service for me. Though, honestly, I am a skeptic. It just seems to be good to be true to be able to download, keep, and use (perform live for audiences) all these copyrighted music for a relatively low monthly fee. And, should one decide to cancel their subscription to the record pool, the music one has downloaded is supposed to be legally theirs to continue to use. Of course never distribute to anyone.

I guess there is that little voice in my head that says when things seem to be too good to be true, they usually are. Though, I have spent a few hours searching google to find RIAA cases or other lawsuits where people got in trouble for this stuff. I have found nothing like this. I can't even find a news article, blog entry, or anything that says this stuff is illegal. I am starting to think its legal, but again it just seems too good to be true.

Anyone have any thoughts and/or information to share about this? Want to discuss this?

I have not tried/joined any record pool yet. I am trying to ensure that A.) It's legal, B.) If it is legal, to join a pool that is legit, c.) Join a great pool.
    Last edited by ClrCreekRdr; 03-20-2013 at 02:48 PM.

how does this work?

Quote Originally Posted by johney View Post
    how does this work?
    Here is a popular record pool to check out: www.djcity.com