Playing my first house party. Top 40, age group 30-45.

Default Playing my first house party. Top 40, age group 30-45.

Hello everyone. Thanks for taking the time to checkout my thread here.

I am a hobbyist. I have a solid career (not in music), married, and have kids. I really don't have aspirations to become a famous DJ and tour the world. I love music and I do enjoy sharing my love of music with others. I am in my late 30's. I have been playing music (guitar, piano, percussion) since I was about 15 years old. I was in a high school band and played out a few times. My brother, who is also into music as a hobby, bought the S4 about 3 years ago. I have been messing around with it here and there. A while back ago I decided I wanted to jump into this hobby, and bought n S4, a couple of QSC k10's, and a K181 sub. Its been a blast.

Well I guess a few of our friends have been paying attention. I got asked yesterday to DJ for a house party in two weeks from now, and Top 40 music was requested. I have never been to this party in the past, but I hear its pretty raging until the wee hours of the morning. Its a birthday party our friend puts on each year and people look forward to it. I am guessing maybe 50-75 people.

I have love for a large variety of music. I live near SF and have seen many of the great old school DJ's in the early and late 90's (Doc Martin, Mark Farina, Garth, and dozens of others). Though, I learned and have spent most of my time on Top 40 music. Mostly because my wife and both my daughters love it. So when I play at home they dance around etc.

Sorry for my long winded introduction, here is where the questions/advice needed comes in.