Z2 Standalone a no?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor SwedeDreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    264

    Default Z2 Standalone a no?

    Saved up my pennies, sold my S2 & am going big and stepping up to the Z2 !

    I'll be pairing them up with CDJ's , but heard somewhere that I shouldn't use the Z2 as a standalone mixer without Traktor!

    Is this true , or did I just get trolled? If so , why SHOULDN'T I use it without Traktor ?

    HEEELP
    Traktor Kontrol S2 :: Midi Fighter Classic :: Akai APC40 :: 17" Acer
    Check out our new "D.O.D - What Time?" Remix! : http://snd.sc/1bvF1xf

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    Doesn't it lose a lot of functionality by not using Traktor?

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor SwedeDreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    264

    Default

    I guess, but it works just fine without traktor does it not ? It was designed to be a 2+2 Club/Digital Mixer!
    Traktor Kontrol S2 :: Midi Fighter Classic :: Akai APC40 :: 17" Acer
    Check out our new "D.O.D - What Time?" Remix! : http://snd.sc/1bvF1xf

  4. #4
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,765

    Default

    It will work as a standalone. You can map those buttons and knobs to whichever dvs you like. If you are not using DVS then I would not go with the Z2 tho.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    29

    Default

    bah I have been trying to get a z2 without breaking the bank, since it seems like a z4 is in the works i think a price drop is coming pretty soon....

    I heard something about only being able to use this mixer in internal mixing mode with timecode. can someone please tell me thats not true casue im not interested in a mixer priced controller.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    It'll work.

    I just don't see why you would get a Z2 if you don't want to use Traktor considering the Z2 was designed with Traktor in mind.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by androoskie View Post
    since it seems like a z4 is in the works
    source?
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor SwedeDreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    264

    Default

    I want to use the Z2 + CDJ's with Traktor at home, but have horrid experiences using a computer at a live event

    I'd rather just use mixer + cdj during a show than use the computer as well!
    Traktor Kontrol S2 :: Midi Fighter Classic :: Akai APC40 :: 17" Acer
    Check out our new "D.O.D - What Time?" Remix! : http://snd.sc/1bvF1xf

  9. #9
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,765

    Default

    sounds like you need a more reliable computer.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    Sounds like you should just get a DJM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •