I made it out of the bedroom!
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default I made it out of the bedroom!

Hey guys,

First post here but I've been following this site forever now. At the beginning of the week I won a local mix contest and now I have an opening spot in the biggest club in the city.

Very nervous.

I have a few questions for any veterans out there because the promoter I'm dealing with is incredibly vague and really won't answer my questions. First off, I have no idea how a PA system in a club works because I've been djing on my one KRK 5'' for a few years now. So what cables am I going to need to bring to this club? I'm using Tratkor, my macbook, a Kontrol S4, and a midi fighter 3D so obviously I know what's needed to hook those up but will I need anything for their speakers, or will they have that sort of thing?

Also I'm only playing for an hour which I'm pretty excited about because I have the opportunity to pre plan a kick ass set. However I've been reading that this is a very bad idea? Keep in mind I'm not some veteran playing for 3 hours, this is my first show and it's only an hour so I want to make a good impression.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance guys!

Martzehhh

Tech Wizard

I don't think I can help with much here, but congratulations, nicely done brother. I'm pretty jelly. You should post your remix up here so we can check it out. Good luck!
    "My friend's cat's hairdresser's botanist told me so." -Newg

Tech Convert

Promoters are usually a pain in the arse! The club will have all of its own stuff already.. Just make sure you take everything you use to connect your kit to your laptop. What are you currently using to connect your speakers to the mixer/controller your coming out of?