Vu-Meters N' Stuff
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    69

    Default Vu-Meters N' Stuff

    Hey everyone,

    I started learning the basics of DJ about an year ago now, currently I can pretty much beatmatch by ear easy, also apply some small effects (nothing too much over the top).. I am basically playing Deep, Techno, Tech House, etc

    Now, my problem:

    I currently own a Behringer BCD3000 which has no Vu-Meters, and I am also using Traktor.

    Does anyone here shares my opinion that Traktor built-in meters are IMPOSSIBLE to read? I mean, they don't give you any visual feedback at all, they should be coloured!

    This way, I am forced to use auto-gain most of times, or just manually adjust the gains by ear but sometimes I still mess up the volumes.





    So, is there any GOOD software vu-meter with colour (Something like pioneer or allen heath style)?

    Or, Is there any midi vu-meter I can buy so i have independent channel meters like in a proper mixer? (I've seen some American Audio or something like that vu-meters but they are all master and not by channel..)





    I am currently saving for buying a DDJ-SX, so no "buy another controller" suggestions please


    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Also, I tried some softwares which normalize the audio files (mp3normalize or something like that), but that is not what I am looking for, I want to be able to manually and visually change gains for when I play somewhere where I don't have "recent" mixers etc I am able to not mess up everyones night

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    I was under the impresisno that Traktor's VU-Meters were horribly inaccurate.

    I'm not sure what you're askingabout visually changing gains... just turn the gain knob?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Boston/Worcester
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    The only suggestion I could give is to try setting your autogain using the Main meter on the top of the program since it has some visual feedback and gives you clip lines. Obviously you'll have to make sure your Main Volume knob and headroom setting stay constant, or if you have to move your Main volume knob (don't know anything about the bcd3000, if it has a main hardware knob), make sure you remember what you normally set it at. As for adjusting gains on the fly, might just have to get better at it with experience, one thing I do that may help is that I always have my volume faders set max to only about 3/4 up. It gives me a little volume room in case I need to boost a little without needing to adjust gains......I just find it easier for me to drop or raise a fader a little on the fly instead of messing with a small very sensitive knob that probably needs to be reset when I load the nest track into that deck.

    There might be a VU MIDI meter on the market that you like, but if it were me, and I was saving for something else better, I probably would do whatever I could not to buy it. It's probably going to be a lot of lost money when you try to sell it.....if you can sell it.

  5. #5
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    You could remap the central row of leds to act as VU meters if you hold down certain button (so you don't loose feedback of the regular functions on those). Split them evenly (or not, depends on your taste) and save the top leds for clip indicators. No need to buy anything.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    This way, I am forced to use auto-gain most of times, or just manually adjust the gains by ear but sometimes I still mess up the volumes.
    You should be learning to match gains by ear anyhow. Do NOT rely on VU meters to match them EVER its a horribly inaccurate way of mixing as some tracks for example will have a exaggerated bassline which will in essence make the track look louder but sound much weaker if you do a straight A>B mix with another track which has an exaggerated mid range.

    So long as you know you are not clipping the channels, the only thing you should need to worry about on a VU display is the master output IMHO, use your ears for everything else.

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Thanks for all the answers!

    I have already mapped middle-row LED's in the past to act as vu-meter, but found it very inacurate as well.

    Well, I guess I'm gonna try and practice to do it by ear then!

    Thanks for all the input



    PS- Native Instruments, STOP FUC**NG AROUND WITH BLUE USELESS TUNNING CAR LIKE LED'S and actually design a proper VU Meter for this amazing software

    PS2- Also, please stop adding useless effects like basically all the new ones on 2.6(.1) and implement a proper ECHO effect

    PS3- Also, please update the S4 controller, so you can make my choice a bit harder. Right now, for me, it's pretty easy to choose between a DDJ-SX and S4... DDJ-SX has bigger platters (ok, not HID but who cares, we house guys don't really scratch), better pitch bending platters, proper vu-meters (), proper aluminum "pro-like" construction and besides also working as "offline" mixer, it has all the inputs and outputs we may ever wish.



    That's all

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Manchester U.K.
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Not askin for much ^
    Technics 1210 mk2 Pair, Pioneer DJM600, Traktor Kontrol x1, NI Audio 6, NI Maschine Mikro MK2, MacBook 2009, iPad 2 with Traktor DJ, Pioneer HDJ-500, Shure M447's

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Desert Hot Springs, CA
    Posts
    763

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    You could remap the central row of leds to act as VU meters if you hold down certain button (so you don't loose feedback of the regular functions on those). Split them evenly (or not, depends on your taste) and save the top leds for clip indicators. No need to buy anything.
    Padi knows what's up.
    Hardware: Akai Max49, Maschine, Equator D5 monitors, Saffire Pro 14
    Software: Logic, Maschine
    My Neighbors Listen to House Music.. Because They Have To.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,490

    Default

    You could make one for about 20 with a duino
    SC | MC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •