Hobby or more?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hobby or more?

Default Hobby or more?

Hey guys, got a little subject I'd like your views on.

I am currently at University in the UK, studying Biochemistry in the 2nd year. I'm also an aspiring DJ and beginner producer.

The problem is work at University takes up a lot of time (especially heading into 3rd year, I should be expected to have barely any free time) and so does playing out at gigs, or learning ableton from youtube videos etc (normally nights finish at around 3-4 around here). I also find that time I spend djing/learning to producing etc is a lot more enjoyable, and not mind numbingly boring like my course. With all this is mind I find it hard to concentrate on my studies as I always want to be refining and learning more about DAWs and sound engineering, playing gigs and become a better producer.

I quite frankly hate my course at university and whilst tonnes of people advise not to drop out of school to pursue the music entertainment industry it has crossed my mind before (even though I know a career is not guaranteed), I feel like I want to pursue what I enjoy at a music production college (such as point blank in London) rather write a dissertation about proteins next year...

How do/did you guys at university (or work) balance out workloads with producing etc?

Has anyone actually experienced what I want to do before?

Cheers.

I'd fully concentrate on school. It's only a few more years.
    Used Record Shopper

music is one of those things that you have to put 100% into to make it FULL-TIME... you get what you put into it...so that being said, part-time practice = part-time success...

you are already in your 3rd year I would not drop out. You can at least have something to fall back on if music doesn't work out.