I Need help with crab scratching / 3 click flare
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default I Need help with crab scratching / 3 click flare

hi, i've been DJing for almost 3 years and i still cant crab scratch. i tried and tried for hours and watched some tutorials but nothing helped, i cant get it. I even destroyed my crossfader for it. :/
    i can only scratch with the gater fx on traktor. i can see my crossfader in traktor moving a bit left and right while im tryin' to crab scratch , i can get it this is getting me angry please help.

Depending on what mixer/controller you're using, you need to get accustomed to your xfader's cut-in. Maybe try to tape the ends of the xfader with hard aluminium tape to cope for the long cut in

Tech Wizard

yea ideally you want a fader that goes from full volume to silence in about 2mm or less without any fade, that helps to start... after that it's a matter of isolating each individual note, 1 finger = 1 sound, every single time. But really a crab scratch isn't the be all and end all of scratching, so don't let it get to you if it gives you difficulty. It's not a very controlled scratch and many people over-use it anyways... personally I never crab scratch and scratching is my main focus. Having good chirps/stabs/foundation goes way further than being able to sound like a machine gun, lol.
    2012 DMC Supremacy World Champ + IDA World Champ

Tech Mentor

I agree with all the comments above. A short cut-in time would help for sure but the most important thing is to start slowly to have clear defined notes. You can practice anywhere just practice the motion with your fingers. Try to twiddle first (crab with only 2 fingers) then move to 3 and even 4.

What's the latency like on your midi crossfader?
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!