MF Spectra "Lag" in Ableton??

Default MF Spectra "Lag" in Ableton??

Hey,

Got my spectra mainly to use as a sample trigger in traktor.. but i decided to mess around with it in ableton.

I'm a bit new to ableton but know i about latency and what not... anyways, I've noticed somewhat of a "lag" when it comes to lets say the drum rack. Its not huge, but its just enough to throw me off if I'm doing 16ths/32nd rolls...

I don't think its software related.. I think it may have to do with the MF having legit actual arcade buttons that need to be pressed in order for something to be triggered. I love the iPad for this reason, since its touch sensitive, the trigger is immediate.

My question is, has anyone felt/noticed the same thing? (i produce trap/hiphop so snare 16ths/32nd are pretty standard/common in my production.)

I was thinkin of getting an MPD26.

Any input for production in ableton is appreciated... especially if you've tried both a MF and a drum pad of sorts.
    I'm a fan of all things art. Music, film, photography, acting, dancing. Expression is powerful.
    www.twitter.com/mtlgrrr
    www.soundcloud.com/mtlgrrr
    www.facebook.com/mtlgrrr

Hey - I love pads and have tried many with drum racks.

I think you might be disappointed with an MPD - check out Maschine and QuNeo.
    The more physical movement required, the lower the upper limit of the speed with which you could play. Different controllers handle the on/off MIDI messages for each of the buttons and pads differently.

Quote Originally Posted by botstein View Post
    Hey - I love pads and have tried many with drum racks.

I think you might be disappointed with an MPD - check out Maschine and QuNeo.
    The more physical movement required, the lower the upper limit of the speed with which you could play. Different controllers handle the on/off MIDI messages for each of the buttons and pads differently.
    sorry im a bit confused with what you mean by 'movement'.