How do i get to the next level?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How do i get to the next level?

Hey,
    I am an aspiring DJ and have been learning the basics for too long. I use Traktor, with a reloop mixage controller, a cheap beginner controller. I can do the basic mixing, outro of a song with an intro of another and whatnot, pretty easily, and have also play around with using samples, like one-shot vocals and things like that. But i feel like i am stuck right now. I want to be able to advance my skills and be a better DJ, good enough to be hired by a club or some private parties. I have some experience playing in front of a crowd, by playing at multiple friends parties, and in front of hundreds of kids at my old high school. but i want to know what i need to learn to set myself away from the beginner, sync button masher, DJs, and onto the next level of professional DJs.
    Can someone point me in the right direction, and show me what i need to learn, and what equipment i should be looking at, to better myself as a DJ.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

stop asking us and start listening to DJs you like and take things you like and implement them into your set and practice. how is DJing any different than anything else in the world? Practice and work hard and network.
    I'm a fan of all things art. Music, film, photography, acting, dancing. Expression is powerful.
    www.twitter.com/mtlgrrr
    www.soundcloud.com/mtlgrrr
    www.facebook.com/mtlgrrr

Tech Wizard