Has anyone been to dubspot? New to DJing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Has anyone been to dubspot? New to DJing

So I'm new to DJing and I'm not quite sure where to start. I own the Traktor s2 and a MacBook Pro. I've been playing with it for a few days now. I love it. But I want to know what to practice and learn how to use the different features in the program. Dubspot looks good but I want to know from someone who's been there before I drop $800 on it. If not let me know how you guys think I should go about it. Any tips for the newbie?

Look at tutorials online. Read a book. Practice.
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

Tech Student

I actually work there. Feel free to drop me a msg if you have any brother.

Default Practice, read, practice

Practice is the most important thing. You should really pick up two books as well-- one for theory and another for implementation. There are tons of great books out there but I feel like there's a few that really shine.

For theory, consider picking up "How to DJ right" or "DJing for Dummies." Both books do a great job of explaining key concepts like beat matching, phrase matching, harmonic mixing, and so on. I think they're $10 or $15 each at Amazon. Since you're using a Kontrol S2 (and presumably Traktor), you can skip over the early bits about turntable purchasing/maintenance/etc. and go straight for the good stuff.

For implementation, I'd recommend the Traktor Bible. It's crammed with useful information specific to Traktor that would take a tremendous amount of time to figure out without a book (or Google).