Hey guys, could use some advice on a new DJ setup purchase!
    Tech Convert

Default Hey guys, could use some advice on a new DJ setup purchase!

So I'm planning on getting a complete new setup (I'm new to DJing) but I plan on making a career out of producing/djing so I'm not going for cheap gear. I was aiming towards a DJM Nexus 2000, Traktor, Allen & Heath K2, and Lemur iPad. Any thoughts on why I should/shouldn't go for it?
    Cheers!

Tech Wizard

If you're new to DJing, you should "test the waters" first. It's too early to plan on making a career out of producing and DJing when you haven't put many hours into it. Imagine how much it would suck to buy expensive gear and figure out in a few months that DJing just isn't your thing!

I would grab a beginner controller like the Kontrol S2 to start. It's not too much money, has great features and is good quality. Hook it up to your laptop and have fun. Then when you've put lots of hours into mixing, you will have an idea of what gear would really be suitable for you and what direction you'd like to go in.

Tech Convert

Quote Originally Posted by protocol View Post
    If you're new to DJing, you should "test the waters" first. It's too early to plan on making a career out of producing and DJing when you haven't put many hours into it. Imagine how much it would suck to buy expensive gear and figure out in a few months that DJing just isn't your thing!

I would grab a beginner controller like the Kontrol S2 to start. It's not too much money, has great features and is good quality. Hook it up to your laptop and have fun. Then when you've put lots of hours into mixing, you will have an idea of what gear would really be suitable for you and what direction you'd like to go in.