Z2+TraktorDJ
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Z2+TraktorDJ

  1. #1
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default Z2+TraktorDJ

    Anyone experimented with this yet? For those of you that have put this (or similar) combo together / how's it going? What do you like about? What's frustrating you?

    For me it's really about the interface. TSP is starting to feel like that tuned up Astra with the "sports" exhaust, wide wheel arches, high performance spoiler and all the other stuff that makes it "better" but maybe a little cluttered with too many bolt-ons.

    Also.. I noticed in the documentation that the s4 audio interface is not supported as an external device for TDJ as its proprietary and not class compliant...interesting.....
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru botstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    LA / NYC
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    I pmed you.

  3. #3
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    Thanks Bot. So no one else is doing this? Thinking about this?
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Can you use the mixer section of the Z2 with TDJ?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  5. #5
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    Yes
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Interesting. So the Z2 can be used in External Mode with the full Traktor Pro too?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #7
    Tech Guru botstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    LA / NYC
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    Interesting. So the Z2 can be used in External Mode with the full Traktor Pro too?
    I dont' know why you would do that, though, the Z2 works pretty well with Scratch as it is.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smittten View Post
    Yes
    This post seems to suggest otherwise:
    http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...d.php?t=189859

    Unless there have been some changes since then? Did the recent update bring proper mixer capability to the Z2?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  9. #9
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    As I understand it, it will work like any other EXTERNAL mixer.

    You will not be mixing internally like with a controller.

    You route the audio to the mixer and the mixers hardware controls the sound.

    It is not a midi controller when used this way.
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  10. #10
    DJTT Scribe Mod smiTTTen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Then: UK. Now: US.
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    My SA mate is correct. In the new update of TDJ you can set up external mixing mode. Add one of these and you can then hook up any class compliant audio interface.

    These are compatible:
    • TRAKTOR AUDIO 6 with firmware version 47
    • TRAKTOR AUDIO 10 with firmware version 48
    • TRAKTOR KONTROL Z2 with firmware version 42
    • KOMPLETE AUDIO 6 with firmware version 45 (powered USB hub required)

    (These are just the NI units that NI states support for on their site)
    These are NOT supported:
    • TRAKTOR AUDIO 2
    • TRAKTOR KONTROL S4
    • AUDIO 2 DJ
    • AUDIO 4 DJ
    • AUDIO 8 DJ
    • AUDIO KONTROL 1


    - Interesting that the Kontrol S4 is listed as not supported but no mention either way regarding the S2. Also makes you wonder other code is knocking around with the S4 drivers that prevent this from being support - possibly the same code that caused people problems with audio glitches.

    A good intro video on YT:

    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •