[HELP PLEASE] What to price your beats
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default [HELP PLEASE] What to price your beats

Hey everyone! I have produced some beats and there is this guy who wants to buy one.
    Since it's my very first beat I'm selling exclusively to him and to him only, I do not have ANY idea what to price.
    Can you guys help me? All help is appreciated!

id much rather give a beat away for free and collect on royalties than have a barrier to entry on my music.
    I'm a fan of all things art. Music, film, photography, acting, dancing. Expression is powerful.
    www.twitter.com/mtlgrrr
    www.soundcloud.com/mtlgrrr
    www.facebook.com/mtlgrrr

How would i collect on royalties? I'm new to this

Quote Originally Posted by Numbox View Post
    How would i collect on royalties? I'm new to this
    lol idk. i dont sell beats.... but just my 2cents... id rather have people hear my music for free and then get paid off a succesful song than charge 25-50-100$ a beat, and no one want to pay for it cause the next guy is producing just as good, if not better beats and giving them out for free.

the music business has changed a bit where giving music out for free and earning $$ off the splash that it causes is way more successful than charging $$ for songs/beats in the first place.

so lets say this guy uses ur beat for a song... what are the situations?

1. he makes a song with your beat for free. 50 people hear it on his facebook page, and then thats that.
    2. he makes a song, it explodes, and gets 500,000 views on youtube, and people want to know where the beat came from.
    3. you charge him $50 for the track, no one hears it.
    4. you charge him $50 for the track, it explodes, he gets famous, and you dont collect on anything because he bought the beat.