Same scratch all the time
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Same scratch all the time

So I have been scratching now for only 6 months or so and every time I throw on a different beat or sound, I always seem to use the same scratch pattern. I have tried so hard to do something different, but it always leads back to that annoying scratch. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Listen to someone else for inspiration.

Listen to the beat you playing to and think up and new little drum pattern that will go with it.

Then try and re-produce it on teh decks.

I had the same issue.

I just stand back for a second. Close my eyes and listen....come up with a new pattern and focus on that.

DONT GET STONED FIRST!

It doesnt help shit!

APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

Tech Guru

I'd recommend you check out Q-Berts Scratch Univ.

He has a really good lesson in Scrath Theory and cutting beats by 1/2 and 1/4 to make different sounds with the same scratch. I use maybe 2-3 scratches vayring tempo and combinations. Q goes on to discuss fairly well how to use your scratches as an instrument to create a beat or sound not to just go wiki-wiki.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

Tech Wizard

listen to recordings of drum corp units. no joke. You will pull lots of nice triplet and 16th rest patterns out of listening to stuff that is 100% centered on rhythmic expression. I'm still waiting to see someone translate the Swiss triplet to the decks.

To add onto that, once you have a pattern you're hearing in your head over and over and want to try on the mixer, apply the same idea I tell my drum students. "If you can say it with your mouth, you can play it with your hands." It works, give it a try.
    Last edited by Seven Deep; 05-16-2013 at 12:03 PM.