Opinion S4 vs Z2 vs T1
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Opinion S4 vs Z2 vs T1

    Hey guys

    Before I hit the buy it now button and spend more money I would like your opinion. When I bought my S4 that was the cheapest way to rin dvs with the scratch upgrade.
    Now the T1 and Z2 is out I would really like to switch but I was wondering if it's a waste of money or I would really be a upgrade
    Thanks for your opinions

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    If you already have the S4 there isn't much benefit in switching.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    If you already have the S4 there isn't much benefit in switching.
    +1

    The only way it'd be an "upgrade" is if space is at a premium at the moment and you just want something more compact. Bear in mind, however, you'd be sacrificing a HELL of a lot of lovely mappable MIDI controls in the process. If you primarily use your TTs for transport functionality, have a tinker with your mapping and remap the jogwheels to something else... super FX, maybe. Same goes for the pitchfaders and any other unused transport controls.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Main benefit would be that you get to mix externally. If that floats your boat. It's a pretty decent reason to swap in my opinion. Plus with those 2 mixers you still get a decent number of mappable controls.
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    The Z2 does not let you mix externally while using Traktor from what I've heard.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  6. #6
    Tech Guru DubluW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default

    I was in a similar boat until last week actually. I thought that id sell the S4 and get a mixer, but a mate of mine who doesn't DJ was impressed by how much the S4 could do and said ''it's like you dont need anything else'' My view was clouded by RGAS, and actually for where im at and where i mix (Bedroom and houseparties etc) im not really in need of anything else.

    No saying that if i had a few thousand lying about and absolutely nothing to spend it on id blow it on a full club setup. But i can dream!
    A+H DB4, Technics 1210's x2, F1, X1MK2 x2, MaschineMk2, Akai LPK 25, MF3D, XDJ-1000 x2.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    994

    Default

    From a Traktore fanboy, the S4 is still hands down the best controller NI have released. The Z2 is just a mixer, and the Pioneer T1 is discontinued. I tested it a lot, lovely unit, and I was about to take the plunge on that, after looking at the +250 S4 and thinking "What a rip off". Then for some reason I thought "No I'll give it a quick test, see how it is" and I've never looked back.
    Kontrol S4Senn HD 25-1Kontrol F1

  8. #8

    Default

    +1 on the Z2, tried it at a mates. Awesome mixer and looks great

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor JayRuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Weston-super-Mare, UK
    Posts
    191

    Default

    Z2 still mixes internally if using with traktor, so its pretty much an s4 without jogs.
    Parts
    Technics 1210//CDJ400//DDM4000//X1//Audio 10//MBP 15" Mid 2012

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    The Z2 is just a controller that happens to have mixer capabilities when disconnected from Traktor, like a VCI 400 or DDJ SX for example.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •