Question on subs with KRK 8s.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Question on subs with KRK 8s.

Hopefully this diverts some of the hate going on in the "tired of DJing" thread...

So I have been Learning to DJ for a little over 6 months now. I really never intended to do this is front of a large crowd or do any giging but the inevitable happened. Some of my friends came over a few nights ago while I was mixing and they heard a few songs that I was doing some simple AB mixing with. My 2 best friends throw a small house party (15-20 people) at least once a week. They want me to come over and start mixing some tunes. They reassured me my mixes sounded good enough for a bunch of drunk Dub guys.... I still dont think so.

Anyways, Since I never intended on playing out I have been happy with my rokit 8s to jam out in the man room at my house. So I hopped online and did a bunch of searching on using the rokit 8s to DJ with. As usual on the internet, 50% of people say its ok and 50% say you are stupid. Im going to be in a basement that is about 60'x 40'. Considering such said party is thrown once a week in a residential area, we like the music to bump but not so much so that that we piss everyone off. This all being said, with what I have read, the 8s should do plenty fine in this size room at this volume level. Just enough to rock the 60x 40 room and loud enough to get some noise resonating up the stairs into the kitchen and family room / rest of the party area.

(Sorry for the long winded paragraphs before the question)

Considering we are all into bass music, would it make sense at all to have a nice sub to go along with the 8s that might be a little over kill for the size of the rokit 8s? I was thinking about purchasing a QSC KW181 sub. If I ever decided to play bigger stuff I really want to get a set of QSC KW181 and a set of QSC k12s. I have heard these a few times at my local shop and at 1 party and really like how they sound.