Stage Fright
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stage Fright

Default Stage Fright

I guess this is a weird thing that happens to me and I'm wondering if it happens to anyone else as well.

First off, this has been happening since I started playing guitar and played in bands years ago. Basically, if I was playing something on the guitar one day and there was one or two people in the room watching me, I'd make all sorts of mistakes. But then if later that night I went on stage in front of, say, 100 people and played with my band, I wouldn't be nervous at all and my playing would be nearly flawless.

Likewise, if I'm showing a buddy some part of a mix I've been working (ie: some transition that I really like) I'll struggle to do it correctly. But later that night at somebody's house party, I could nail that transition over and over all night if I wanted.

Can anyone else relate to this? I'm just curious what you guys think.
    Last edited by Lambox; 09-08-2009 at 08:18 PM.
    LamboxMusic.com
    Newest release: A Pimp's Overture in B-Flat Minor
    Check out my free "Robo Rhythm" EP: Here

Soundcloud - Facebook - Twitter

Tech Guru

sometimes I feel this way, for several reasons,
    a) they are looking over my shoulder and I usually feel unprepared
    b) also I feel like I have to show them something quickly or I'm an idiot, whereas on stage I am mixing and the crowd has no idea to expect something special

So I guess it comes down to living up to expectations often being harder than exceeding no expectations for me.
    FIX8:OSCill8
    My Rig: Macbook 13" (2.16ghz 4gb crucial ram), VCI-100 custom paint, Korg Nanopad, Axiom 25, DJIO

yeah it makes a lot of sense..with a smaller crowd you can tell more eyes are directly on you..it's more intimate. a larger crowd = less pressure (ironically) because it's more diversity and shit going on. i worded that really badly but i hope you catch my drift.
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep