OT: Graphic Design
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default OT: Graphic Design

I've always really liked to mess around with some basic graphic design ever since my parents bought a copy of Paint Shop Pro when I was in junior high. But I'm really no good at it.

Now, I'd like to be able to design some basic fliers and stuff. I'm a decent artist on paper, but when it comes to doing stuff on the computer I'm hopeless. As I mentioned before, I have Paint Shop Pro, but it's a real older version, so that's probably out.

I've been trying to use GIMP lately to do some stuff, but for whatever reason GIMP confuses the hell out of me.

So really what I'm asking is this: does any one know of some good websites with tutorials for beginners using GIMP? Thanks.

Edit: Not that I'll be able to do anything like this any time soon, but I'd really like to be able to design fliers like this at some point:

Last edited by Lambox; 09-08-2009 at 08:18 PM.
    LamboxMusic.com
    Newest release: A Pimp's Overture in B-Flat Minor
    Check out my free "Robo Rhythm" EP: Here

Soundcloud - Facebook - Twitter

Tech Guru

As the graphic designer heres the best tip i can ever give you...

USE PHOTOSHOP.

Once u've got that bit sorted, just rape tutorials. Heres the best photoshop tutorial website on the net imo (fucking brillient for doing fliers).

http://psd.tutsplus.com/

Heres another tip. Its ALL about attention to detail. SUBTLE detail. Ie gradients/outerglow/bevel/dropshadow etc. BUT!!! Make sure u use them subtlety. The way to test this is if its opbvious what effect your using. You should only be able to really tell theres an effect when you turn it on/off.

The best way to use effects is the layer effects in Photoshop. Once you've got it look up photoshop layer effects in google.

Also I would suggest aiming higher then that flier u posted. I mean its allrighht, but pretty tacky & generic IMO.