How do you prep your music, digitally?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    311

    Default How do you prep your music, digitally?

    So Mr. Golden has already posted, in his blog, about some freebies he doesnt do without, so im asking what do you do? Just to throw some ideas with each other and help each other with some programs and questions about those programs, before we fork out the money.
    I took some of his recommendations from his article and now I use the following applications. In the following order.

    1) Source, whether it be beatport.com or a cd or other downloading software.
    2) I use Platinum notes, this will help my music sound better.
    3) Mixed in Key, to write down the key on my tags
    4) Name Mangler, PN adds an extension to the music file and inserts it at the end of the title. So I use this program to remove this extension from a large selection of files.
    5) I import it to iTunes.

    Anyways thats my process and its working so far, without major problems. Leave a post if you have any questions or suggestions, also post your process.
    Thank Ya!!!

  2. #2
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    I think Nico was the one to write the article you refer to actually.

  3. #3
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    I rip/download the music
    I check the tags
    I organize into folders of Artist-Album or if various artists it is VA - Label-Album
    Files are track number - Title or if various artists track number - artist - title
    I import into itunes
    I import into Traktor. I analyze and grid the ones I am more likely to spin. If tracks really catch my attention, or I will definitely spin them, I put more cue points into them to break the track down into sections. I try to stick to 6 used cue points (ignoring Out cue), but sometimes that isn't possible.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Krilikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nj
    Posts
    427

    Default

    Checking Tags
    (i need to get platnium note)
    Mixed in Key
    Analyze in Traktor
    Make playlists in tracktor
    Convert Tracktor nmu files into M3U
    Load them onto my zune

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BentoSan View Post
    I think Nico was the one to write the article you refer to actually.
    Yes you are correct, sorry Nico. Nico is the author, of the article im referring to, here is the link.

    http://www.djtechtools.com/2008/06/0...e-without-mac/
    Thank Ya!!!

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor djxsquizet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Posts
    469

    Default

    -download or rip my tracks
    -put them in folders that match the genre
    -warp them
    -set up all my loop points or cue

    and I am done.

  7. #7

    Default

    - Download
    - Get the key and bpm with "Rapid Evolution"
    - Rename the file to "key-bpm-artist-track"
    - Import and warp

  8. #8

    Default

    download / rip
    figure out bpm in traktor
    fix the tags in itunes to:
    ARTIST - SONG (REMIX) - BPM.mp3
    and then organize in a folder that is the same as the genre.

    -- i need to fix the way "i do buiness" though.

    anything freeware for mac that can detect bpm, change tags, and organize?

    should i just use traktor? I've just updated to traktor 3 from the le...
    "This is the soundtrack to the nightmares in which I can't wake up. I'm about to be murdered, or I'm being forced to jump off a cliff. Thank you."
    http://www.myspace.com/kagnawh

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor djxsquizet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Posts
    469

    Default

    i really need to organize my tracks by bpm i am just so lazy

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Krilikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nj
    Posts
    427

    Default

    I know in vista theres a way you can pull up id3 columns, so you could potentially have BPM and organize it in vista.
    Not sure if that would help you though.

    If you had traktor it would be a lot easier

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •