How to catch their attention via e-mail or Facebook?

Default How to catch their attention via e-mail or Facebook?

I find myself having to contact promoters, club owners, radio DJs, and restaurant owners via e-mail or Facebook (especially when trying to lang gigs outstide the city) to try and land some DJ gigs.

I usually use use a very generic, brief message. Something like:

"Hi, my name is Ernie Sega, as a local house DJ, I wanted to touch base with you and share my work. I've been mixing for over 10 years. I recently won the following competitions and opened for the following big names. "

I give them a link to my latest demo, links to my social media outlets and website, and contact info for booking.

This naturally does not get me very far (I know very well there is more value in meeting these people in person but that isn't always possible for me).

Any suggestions on how I could spice up my approach when it has to be done by e-mail or Facebook message?

Maybe dropping a demo right away is not the right way of doing it (I would never walk up to a promoter or club owner and give him a demo right away. I would usually talk them up a bit, maybe meet with them a couple times before trying to push my work on them).

Just want to make sure there isn't a better way of going about this.

Thanks

Tech Convert

Usually promoters/restaurants/club owners already has their dedicated DJs.

IMO even if you're really good at mixing, noone will just say sure and give you the headliner gig at their events.
    I could say the same, as I'm going through the same stage (except I'm much newer than 10years of mixing), that
    it really comes down to how close you are to the promoter/owner as a person.
    Seems that lot of networking and getting to know the other person is the best bet of getting your future gigs;
    unless you have a great music of your own to present, then it's all down to whether they like what they hear or not..but not all DJs are producers so good luck..