Another one of those threads but..
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default Another one of those threads but..

    Am looking at selling my CDJ 1000 mk3s in order to upgrade to CDJ 900s. I will be playing in a club soon and i feel like CDJ 1000s are too tedious with burning CDs and i would probably bring the 900s to house parties also. Also selling Traktor F1 but keeping mixtrack pro and x1 for meantime.

    Is it worth spending $2k on used CDj 900s and a roadcase? Finding it hard to decide but i feel as if It will benefit me in the long run using CDjs to mix all the time with USBs saving the effort of burning cds. Controllers are great but i feel there is still no place in the professional industry for them as yet, but probably keep them to use for house parties if i dont want to take CDJs. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    I wouldn't buy them new if that's what you're asking.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    I wouldn't buy them new if that's what you're asking.
    nah buying used so 1800 australian for 2 cdj 900s. 150 for the case. Saving about 900 if i bought new

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Sounds like a good enough deal, do you have a mixer though?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    Sounds like a good enough deal, do you have a mixer though?
    Yeah i already have a DJM 800 which is all i need really. Don't see why to upgrade a mixer for 2 more colour effects, USB MIDI and some more effects. Doesnt seem worth the upgrade tbh

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    I'd get'em. Sounds similar to my set up 1200's and a DJM or a VCI300 for really small parties. Any club I play at I just bring my X1.

    Same workflow at home or at the club. If places you are going to play at have 900's or up and you enjoy them do it. I miss having CDJs at home where I could just drop a USB in and not have to worry about sound cards and laptop, just play some tunes.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haze324 View Post
    I'd get'em. Sounds similar to my set up 1200's and a DJM or a VCI300 for really small parties. Any club I play at I just bring my X1.

    Same workflow at home or at the club. If places you are going to play at have 900's or up and you enjoy them do it. I miss having CDJs at home where I could just drop a USB in and not have to worry about sound cards and laptop, just play some tunes.
    Yeah true i probably will go for it. How do you go about using an X1 in the club though? hooking up your laptop to the mixer and using an x1 also or?

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    I use Serato Scratch Live. I use the X1 to control SSL, then play on whatever the club system is; turntables or CDJS
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haze324 View Post
    I use Serato Scratch Live. I use the X1 to control SSL, then play on whatever the club system is; turntables or CDJS
    how does that work exactly? kinda lost like the x1 controls the laptop so do you have the laptop plugged into the cdjs and mixer by timecode or?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •