New Mac Pro
Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 121

Thread: New Mac Pro

  1. #1
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,100

    Default New Mac Pro

    I know there's a thread on the Apple Keynote thing, but this thread is dedicated only to the discussion of the new Mac Pro. I'm definitely interested and am seriously thinking about picking one up. I'd love to hear everyones thoughts on it.

    http://www.apple.com/mac-pro/

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Polygon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    A salt mine in Michigan
    Posts
    1,275

    Default

    There's nothing "pro" about it.
    It's gonna cost an eye, an arm and a leg. 3k minimum, given the fact it's manufactured in the USA.
    And it has NO expandability whatsoever.

    Want to install your REDrocket in that baby to, you know, edit PRO videos? Well that's just too bad.

    "oh well yeah but you have thunderbolt 2 and shit"

    So what? Taking bandwidth away from the GPUs? Fantastic!

    This is not a PRO machine. This is just a nice-looking, heavily engineered prosumer unit which is going to look just oh-so-damn-cool together with those harman kardon soundsticks.

    EDIT: also, 3k will probably be a quadcore model.

    The 12core will probably weigh in at something like 7-8k, which is more than enough to build a 16core watercooled beast that will crunch the crap out of this, raw power-wise. Will it look as sleek and small? No.
    Will you have the pleasure of having a better rig for the same price? Hell yeah.
    Last edited by Polygon; 06-10-2013 at 07:44 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by donstone View Post
    I only use VINYL flooring. Rugs are for cheaters.
    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    If you can't find an Abba song that you like, you are a liar of the highest order.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Does Thunderbolt take bandwidth away in a way that regular PCIE does not?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  4. #4

    Default

    With the addition of the iPlastic iBag, it also doubles up as a handy office transhcan.
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdcdesign View Post
    With the addition of the iPlastic iBag, it also doubles up as a handy office transhcan.
    I heard that iBag was $50 for a 20 count.

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    They will add a couple of iBags for free once the wifi antenna problems start to emerge.

  7. #7

    Default

    Apparently the entire top of the unit acts as "one big handle"... very useful for all the times you'll have to take it down to the Apple Store for the "geniuses" to help you turn it on.
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    My guess for price: 4k+

    I wonder how many idiot users are going to buy this thinking they must have it for (insert non-intense task here)

  9. #9
    Tech Guru William Gibson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    ChiCompton
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Polygon View Post
    There's nothing "pro" about it.
    It's gonna cost an eye, an arm and a leg. 3k minimum, given the fact it's manufactured in the USA.
    And it has NO expandability whatsoever.

    Want to install your REDrocket in that baby to, you know, edit PRO videos? Well that's just too bad.

    "oh well yeah but you have thunderbolt 2 and shit"

    So what? Taking bandwidth away from the GPUs? Fantastic!

    This is not a PRO machine. This is just a nice-looking, heavily engineered prosumer unit which is going to look just oh-so-damn-cool together with those harman kardon soundsticks.

    EDIT: also, 3k will probably be a quadcore model.

    The 12core will probably weigh in at something like 7-8k, which is more than enough to build a 16core watercooled beast that will crunch the crap out of this, raw power-wise. Will it look as sleek and small? No.
    Will you have the pleasure of having a better rig for the same price? Hell yeah.
    Poly, why dont you not hold back and tell us how you REALLY feel?!?!

    :P

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    I'd take a nice watercooled rig over this trashcan any day.

    http://www.million-dollar-pc.com/

    Clean loops are beautiful.

Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •