Dumb Question about using Presonus Firebox

Default Dumb Question about using Presonus Firebox

So I just bought my first external soundcard which is a presonus firebox.
    As this is my first time using an external device I have one question I haven't been able to answer myself.
    Instead of the RCA cables, this sound card uses TRS (tip Ring Sleeve) or TS (Tip Sleeve) cables to connect to monitors. I just don't know how to connect this cables or if I should get TRS to RCA cables, they seem to be hard to find here in Colombia, and in places llike Amazon I just seem to find a few avaliable choices.
    I think I can use the S/PDIF out to connect the rca cables, but I think It would be better if I use the main outs.
    Any help would be appreciated!
    Music is communication, as any other form of creation.
    SoundCloud
    MBP 13", Traktor Pro, Presonus Firebox, Numark Stealth, Akai MPD-18, Behringer speakers.

hey, I think those are the same as 1/4 phono plugs like lots of headphones have. I am not 100% positive of that but try searching "phono adaptor rca"
    or "1/4 adaptor rca"

I found a few cheap ones you might want something better

http://www.amazon.com/Stereo-Plug-Fe...926133&sr=8-16

also if you didnt know stereo ones have a extra black band around it (mono just has 1 stripe) you can see here this one is stereo

http://www.amazon.com/Monster-MCL-MS...2926093&sr=8-4

hopefully someone else can confirm
    Last edited by kaleaf; 09-14-2009 at 06:09 AM.

Afaik TRS provides the option of a balanced output over TS (unbalanced) due to the 3rd contact, so provided the level is the same (?) the jack should convert to stereo RCA as kaleaf said

You wouldn't be able to use the Coaxial S/PDIF as it outputs a digital signal, despite the connector being physically identical to a mono RCA
    MacBook, Vestax VCI-300 with Serato Itch
    www.djlantau.com | www.youtube.com/djlantau | www.soundcloud.com/djlantau